Familiar Faces in Victory Lane

By Mike Hughes

News Main Photo

#7 Clay Money, Penokee, KS IMCA Modified Feature Winner

     It was all familiar faces in the winner’s circle at RPM Speedway in Hays, KS, Saturday evening, August 27.

     In the Gib’s Auto Supply IMCA Modified A-feature, Jimmy Reeves jumped out to the early lead in the 20-lap event, but gave way to Jesse Richter on lap 3.  Richter and Reeves were back and forth as Reeves regained the lead on lap 9, only to be passed again by Richter on lap 10.  Then Corey Lagroon made up ground at the top of the track and took the lead on lap 14.  But Penokee’s Clay ‘The Money Man’ Money dove under Lagroon in turn four coming to the white flag and held on for his second RPM Speedway win this year in the caution free race.  Kyle Rohleder finished third behind Lagroon, with second heat winner Richter, and ‘Dynamite’ Dylan Sherfick close behind.  Kurtis Pihl and Tim Watts also won heat races.

     The 20-lap Advantage Glass Plus IMCA Stock Car feature got off to a rough start as there was an eight car tangle in turn 2 on the opening lap, eliminating four cars.  On the restart, Kevin Wagoner took the lead but was passed by Kyle Pfeifer on lap 4.  After a lap 10 restart, Selden’s Jason Rogers took the lead from Pfeifer and would not look back the remaining distance and drove on to his third win of the year at Hays.  Jason Schoenberger, Aaron Gray, Shaylon ‘Hollywood’ Holloway and Jason Davis rounded out the top five.  Pfeifer, Trevor Schmidt and Chad Sterling were victorious in their heat races.

     Adam Weber took the lead at the drop of the green in the Golden B Hydra Drilling IMCA Sport Mod main event but was passed by Daniel Gottschalk of Ellis after a lap 4 restart.  Gottschalk, who currently leads in national points, drove on to his 30th feature win of the season and his fourth at RPM Speedway.  Trenton Kleweno finished second, with second heat winner Blaine Walt, Tracy Holloway and Tanner Portenier completing the top five.  Cody Pancake and Rodger Peck won the other two heat races.

     The 20-lap Golden Plains Trucking IMCA Hobby Stock feature saw ‘Bam Bam’ Cody Graham take the early lead and still led the field at the halfway mark through a couple of caution periods.  Then after a lap 12 caution, Eric Cross of Salina drove past Graham and made his way to victory lane for the second time this season.  Graham held on to the runner-up spot, followed by heat three victor Robert Leonard, ‘The Wild Child’ Garrett Hager, and Colton Pfeifer.  Daniel Irwin and Brady Bencken also won heat races.

     Richard Crow of Grand Island, NE, made it two in a row in the Cutting Edge Collision IMCA Sport Compact feature.  Crow took the lead on lap 5 of the 12-lap race from Kirk Pfannenstiel.  Billy Turner raced his way to second, followed by Art Herzog, Pfannenstiel, and Tyson Plumisto.  Heat race winners were Kiowa Higdon and Jakob Schwein.

     The Radke Implement ‘Crazy’ Cruiser division saw Brady & Dee Bauer of Ness City also won their second main event in a row.  Jeff McQuad & Justin Schwein finished second.  The Bauers also won the heat race.

     Nex-Tech was the evening’s race sponsor.

     Racing action returns to RPM Speedway on Saturday, September 17, for championship night.  The points races are up for grabs.  Race time is 7:00 p.m.



IMCA Modifieds

Heat race winners: Kurtis Pihl, Jesse Richter, Tim Watts.

Feature: 1. Clay Money, 2. Corey Lagroon, 3. Kyle Rohleder, 4. Richter, 5. Dylan Sherfick, 6. Jimmy Reeves, 7. Tyler Frye, 8. Clinton Hockersmith, 9. Pihl, 10. Brian Knoell, 11. Ronnie Hill, 12. Matt Fabrizius, 13. Watts, 14. Mike Petersilie, 15. Brian Calhoon, 16. Marty Clark, 17. Todd Schwarz, 18. Jeremy Zorn (DNF).

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat race winners: Kyle Pfeifer, Trevor Schmidt, Chad Sterling.

Feature: 1. Jason Rogers, 2. Schoenberger, 3. Aaron Gray, 4. Shaylon Holloway, 5. Jason Davis, 6. Schmidt, 7. Cody Zimmerman, 8. Brady Bauer, 9. Kevin Wagoner, 10. Ryan Stevenson, 11. Rick Slothower, 12. Pfeifer (DNF), 13. Tanner Portenier (DNF), 14. Dusty Witthuhn (DNF), 15. Nolan Remus (DNF), 16. Sterling (DNF), 17. Mark Zorn (DNF), 18. Justin Bussell (DNF), 19. Justin Lewis (DNF), 20. Will Bauer (DNF), 21. Robert Rutherford (DNF).

IMCA Sport Mods

Heat race winners: Cody Pancake, Blaine Walt, Rodger Peck.

Feature: 1. Daniel Gottschalk, 2. Trenton Kleweno, 3. Walt, 4. Tracy Holloway, 5. Tanner Portenier, 6. Peck, 7. Pat Bedore, 8. Kamren Gruber, 9. Tyler Watts, 10. Toby Witthuhn, 11. Adam Weber, 12. Shay Simoneau (DNF), 13. Jasen Gray (DNF), 14. Brenden Damon (DNF), 15. J.R. Ewing (DNF), 16. Pancake (DNF), 17. C.J. Pfannenstiel (DNF), 18. Dakota Sproul (DNF).

IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat race winners: Daniel Irwin, Brady Bencken, Robert Leonard.

Feature: 1. Eric Cross, 2. Cody Graham, 3. Leonard, 4. Garrett Hager, 5. Colton Pfeifer, 6. Andrew Burg, 7. Bencken, 8. Travis Coop, 9. Tony Slothower, 10. Shay Simoneau, 11. Cody Ghumm, 12. Josh Barnhart, 13. Leon Pfannenstiel, 14. Irwin, 15. Monte Honas, 16. Mark Normandin, 17. Nicole Woods, 18. Joel Dix, 19. Justin Meserve, 20. Neil Normandin (DNF), 21. Austin Tammen (DNF), 22. Brett Henke (DNS), 23. Spencer Hilbrink (DNS).

IMCA Sport Compacts

Heat race winners: Kiowa Higdon, Jakob Schwein.

Feature: 1. Richard Crow, 2. Billy Turner, 3. Art Herzog, 4. Kirk Pfannenstiel, 5. Tyson Plumisto, 6. Brandon Wise, 7. Toby Schwein, 8. Jason McIntyre, 9. Derek McDonough, 10. Paul Whittenburg, 11. Lezley Tubbs, 12. Higdon, 13. Chandler Schoenberger, 14. Tayler Watts, 15. Brooke Russell (DNF), 16. J. Schwein (DNF), 17. Braxton Berry (DNS).


Heat winner: Brady Bauer/Dee Bauer.

Feature: 1. Bauer/Bauer, 2. Jeff McQuad/Justin Schwein, 3. Justin Yarmer/Levi Ryan (DNF), 4. Brian Brummer/Braden Hake (DNF), 5. Cody Hoss/Keith Long (DNF), 6. Kyle Thompson (DNF).