Schoenberger, Rohleder Win

By Mike Hughes

News Main Photo

Jason Schoenberger IMCA Stock Car Feature Winner

     Russell’s Jason Schoenberger and Kyle Rohleder of Wakeeney were first time winners this season at RPM Speedway in Hays, KS, Saturday evening, July 9.

     Schoenberger edged out Jason Rogers buy a about a foot in the closest feature finish on the night in the Advantage Glass Plus IMCA Stock Car feature.  Shaylon ‘Hollywood’ Holloway led the first 2 laps, then was passed by Cody Zimmerman.  But his lead was short-lived as Trevor ‘The Hit Man’ Schmidt took over the top spot the next lap.  Schmidt continued to lead through lap 11 before Holloway went back in front.  Schoenberger took command on lap 15 and led to the finish as he held off Rogers at the flagstand for the win.  Nolan Remus was third, followed by Chad Sterling and Holloway.  Holloway and Schoenberger were the heat race winners.

     Rohleder took the lead on lap 2 from Marty Clark and led the remaining distance in the Gib’s Auto Supply IMCA Modified feature.  A lap 13 caution bunched the field on the restart, and ‘The Iceman’ David Murray gave chase but could not catch Rohleder.  ‘Dynamite’ Dylan Sherfick, Brian Knowll and ‘The Frye Man’ Tyler Frye rounded out the top five.  Heat race winners were Knoell, Frye and Murray.

     Polesitter Brenden Damon took the early lead in the Golden B Hydra Drilling IMCA Sport Mod main event before Tyler Watts took the lead.  Watts was able to hang on until lap 11 when Collyer’s Blaine Walt took the lead after a restart.  A spinout on the last lap set up a one lap shootout to the finish and Walt held off a hard charging Daniel Gottschalk for the victory, his second of the year at Hays.  Trenton Kleweno was third, followed by Watts and Dakota Sproul.  Damon, Watts and Sproul were victorious in their heat races.

     The 20-lap Golden Plains Trucking IMCA Hobby Stock A-feature saw Andrew Burg of Carlisle, IA, score his second win of the season.  Duane Wahrman led the first 5 laps before Colton Pfeifer took the lead after a lap 6 restart.  But Pfeifer broke on lap 15 and came to a stop to bring out a caution.  Brady Bencken then led the field back to green, followed by Shay Simoneau and Burg.  Burg took the lead on lap 16, Bencken was back in front on lap 17, then Burg regained the lead on lap 18.  A caution on lap 19 set up a green-white-checkered finish and Burg held on to win over Bencken, Travis Coop, Simoneau, and Robert Leonard.  Heat race victors were Wahrman, Cody Williams, and Burg.

     Russell’s Jakob Schwein started 9th in the Cutting Edge Collision IMCA Sport Compact feature but charged through the field and took the lead from Billy Turner on lap 4 of the caution free 12-lap event, his third of the season.  Turner finished second, trailed by heat race winner Randy Murphy, Amber Bird and Brandon Wise.  Schwein also won a heat race.

     The Radke Implement ‘Crazy’ Cruiser division saw the father-son team of Brian & Shaylon Holloway of Osborne score their third RPM Speedway feature win.  They took the lead on lap 8 from Brady & Dee Bauer.  Justin Yarmer & Levi Ryan finished second, followed by Shaun Woods & Harlan Kuntsch, and the Bauers.  The Holloways also won the heat race.

     Nex-Tech Wireless was the evening’s race sponsor.

     It was Kid’s Night, so all kids 12 & under were admitted free with a paid adult.  And it was also ‘Christmas in July’ as adults could bring a toy worth $5 or more and get in for $5 admission, with the toys going to the Ellis county ‘Toys for Tots’ program. 

     Racing action returns to RPM Speedway for the Ellis County Fair on Saturday & Sunday, July 16-17.  The United Rebel Sprint Series will be on hand both nights, with IMCA support classes each night.



IMCA Modifieds

Heat race winners: Brian Knoell, Tyler Frye, David Murray.

Feature: 1. Kyle Rohleder, 2. Murray, 3. Dylan Sherfick, 4. Knoell, 5. Frye, 6. Cody Gearhart, 7. Mike Petersilie, 8. Marty Clark, 9. Tim Watts, 10. Clay Money, 11. Nate Moore, 12. Greg Gustus, 13. Ronnie Hill, 14. Mike Lunow, 15. Kurtis Pihl, 16. Todd Schwarz, 17. David Solberg, 18. Kaid Calhoon, 19. William Nusser (DNF), 20. Jesse Richter (DNF), 21. Matt Fabrizius (DNS).

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat race winners: Shaylon Holloway, Jason Schoenberger.

Feature: 1. Schoenberger, 2. Jason Rogers, 3. Nolan Remus, 4. Chad Sterling, 5. Holloway, 6. Casey Woken, 7. Aaron Gray, 8. Cody Zimmerman, 9. Jason Davis, 10. Robert Rutherford, 11. Chris Oliver, 12. Kyle Pfeifer, 13. Trevor Schmidt (DNF), 14. B.J. Wagoner (DNF), 15. Josh Crombie (DNF), 16. Bruce Plumisto (DNS).

IMCA Sport Mods

Heat race winners: Brenden Damon, Tyler Watts, Dakota Sproul.

Feature: 1. Blaine Walt, 2. Daniel Gottschalk, 3. Trenton Kleweno, 4. Watts, 5. Sproul, 6. Jeremy Sigler, 7. Tracy Holloway, 8. Tanner Portenier, 9. C.J. Pfannenstiel, 10. Brian Davidson, 11. Pat Bedore, 12. Kamren Gruber, 13. Terry Collins (DNF), 14. J.R. Ewing (DNF), 15. Eric Pfeifer (DNF), 16. Mike Appel (DNF), 17. Adam Weber (DNF), 18. Brady Skrdlant (DNF), 19. Damon (DNF), 20. Brett Berry (DNF).

IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat race winners: Duane Wahrman, Cody Williams, Andrew Burg.

Feature: 1. Burg, 2. Brady Bencken, 3. Travis Coop, 4. Shay Simoneau, 5. Robert Leonard, 6. Tony Slothower, 7. Jeromy Wagner, 8. Eric Cross, 9. John Annon, 10. Josh Barnhart, 11. Will Bauer, 12. Wahrman, 13. Brett Henke, 14. Nicole Woods, 15. Daniel Irwin, 16. Colton Pfeifer (DNF), 17. William McBride (DNF), 18. Mark Normandin (DNF), 19. T.C. McKain (DNF), 20. Lyle Russell (DNF), 21. Williams (DNF).

IMCA Sport Compacts

Heat race winners: Jakob Schwein, Randy Murphy.

Feature: 1. Schwein, 2. Billy Turner, 3. Murphy, 4. Amber Bird, 5. Brandon Wise, 6. Andrew Soderlund, 7. Art Herzog, 8. Brooke Russell, 9. Tayler Watts (DNF), 10. Paul Whittenburg (DNS).


Heat winner: Brian Holloway/Shaylon Holloway.

Feature: 1. Holloway/Holloway, 2. Justin Yarmer/Levi Ryan, 3. Shaun Woods/Harlan Kuntsch, 4. Brady Bauer/Dee Bauer, 5. Jeff McQuade/Justin Schwein (DNF), 5. Brian Brummer/Braden Hake (DNS).