Frye, Gottschalk Repeat

By Mike Hughes

News Main Photo

     ‘The Frye Man’ Tyler Frye of Belleville and Daniel Gottschalk of Ellis made repeat appearances in the winner’s circle in their respective divisions at RPM Speedway in Hays, KS, Saturday evening.

     Marty Clark took the lead at the drop of the green in the Gib’s Auto Supply IMCA Modified feature until Frye took over the lead on lap 7.  After a 3 car tangle on lap 9 to bring out a caution, Frye led the field back to green.  Mike Petersilie chased Frye down and took control on lap 13, only to have Frye regain the lead on the following lap and hold on for his second win at Hays this year.  ‘The Money Man’ Clay Money got by Petersilie late to claim the runner-up spot, with ‘Dynamite’ Dylan Sherfick and Jeremy Frenier rounding out the top five.  Heat race winners were Jesse Richter and Kyle Rohleder.

     Adam Weber took the lead in the 20-lap IMCA Sport Mod feature but spun on lap 4, giving the lead to Tyler Watts on the restart.  Gottschalk passed Watts on lap 8 and continued to lead at the halfway mark with Blaine Walt moving to second.  Watts took the lead on lap 14, but Gottschalk got back by on lap 18 and held off Walt for a trip to victory lane as Watts broke at the end.  Tracy Holloway, Brian Conness and Dakota Sproul rounded out the top five.  Heat race winners were J.R. Ewing, Watts, and Brian Fink.

     The closest finish of the night was in the Advantage Glass Plus IMCA Stock Car feature as heat two winner Arnold Williams of Russell got under leader Jason Schoenberger in turn four coming to the checkers to win by less than a car-length.  Heat one winner Trevor ‘The Hit Man’ Schmidt took the lead at the start but Schoenberger took the lead on lap 3 and appeared to look for his second win in as many nights as he won the night before at Salina Speedway.  But Williams stayed close the second half of the 20-lap event and tried to make a pass for the lead on several occasions but just came up short.  But on the final lap, Williams dove inside of Schoenberger and made it stick to take the checkers.  Jason Davis was third, followed by Chad Sterling and Aaron Gray.  Kyle Pfeifer also won a heat race.

     The 20-lap Golden Plains Trucking IMCA Hobby Stock A-feature saw Andrew Burg of Carlisle, IA, take the lead from William McBride on lap 5 and drive on for a trip to the winner’s circle.  Point leader Eric Cross gave chase but settled for second, followed by Colton Pfeifer, heat two winner Robert Leonard, and Travis Coop.  Brady Bencken won the other heat race.

     Hometown driver Art Herzog won the survival in the Cutting Edge Collision IMCA Sport Compact feature as only 4 cars finished out of the 10 car field.  Billy Turner led early on until Jakob Schwein took the lead on lap 5, only to have Turner regain the lead the following lap in the 12-lap event.  But after a caution on lap 8, Turner stalled on the restart and ended his night, giving the lead to Herzog who drove away for the win.  Lezley Tubbs finished second, followed by Paul Whittenburg and Brooke Russell.  Heat race winners were Herzog and Brandon Wise.

     The Radke Implement ‘Crazy’ Cruiser division saw the team of Jeff McQaude of Victoria and Toby Schwein of Russell lead all 12 laps.  Dalton Bauer & Josh Crombie were second, trailed by Brian & Shaylon Holloway, Shaun Woods & Harlan Kuntzch, and heat race winners Justin Yarmer & Levi Ryan.

     It was ‘Pink Out Night’ in honor of cancer survivors.  The Ellis County Fire Department was also honored for helping with the Anderson Creek fire this past March.

     Racing action returns to RPM Speedway Saturday, June 25, with the regular six divisions in action.  Race time is 7:00 p.m.



IMCA Modifieds

Heat race winners: Jesse Richter, Kyle Rohleder.

Feature: 1. Tyler Frye, 2. Clay Money, 3. Mike Petersilie, 4. Dylan Sherfick, 5. Jeremy Frenier, 6. Rohleder, 7. Troy Plummer, 8. Brian Calhoon, 9. Marty Clark, 10. Nate Moore, 11. Tim Watts (DNF), 12. Ronnie Hill (DNF), 13. Corey Lagroon (DNF), 14. Richter (DNF), 15. Jimmy Reeves (DNF).

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat race winners: Trevor Schmidt, Arnold Williams, Kyle Pfeifer.

Feature: 1. Williams, 2. Jason Schoenberger, 3. Jason Davis, 4. Chad Sterling, 5. Aaron Gray, 6. Jason Rogers, 7. Jeff Tubbs, 8. Pfeifer, 9. Schmidt, 10. Bruce Plumisto, 11. Scot Granzella, 12. Dalton Bauer, 13. Robert Rutherford, 14. Shaylon Holloway (DNF), 15. Cody Zimmerman (DNF), 16. Josh Crombie (DNF), 17. Tanner Portenier (DNS).

IMCA Sport Mods

Heat race winners: J.R. Ewing, Tyler Watts, Brian Fink.

Feature: 1. Daniel Gottschalk, 2. Blaine Walt, 3. Tracy Holloway, 4. Brian Conness, 5. Dakota Sproul, 6. Brian Davidson, 7. Cody Pancake, 8. Trenton Kleweno, 9. Kamren Gruber, 10. Ewing, 11. Dan Lauer, 12. Pat Bedore, 13. Watts (DNF), 14. Fink (DNF), 15. Adam Weber (DNF), 16. Madison Reed (DNF), 17. Eric Pfeifer (DNS), 18. Bentley Pywell (DNS).

IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat race winners: Brady Bencken, Robert Leonard.

Feature: 1. Andrew Burg, 2. Eric Cross, 3. Colton Pfeifer, 4. Leonard, 5. Travis Coop, 6. Cody Ghumm, 7. Shay Simoneau, 8. Bencken, 9. Mark Normandin, 10. Daniel Irwin, 11. Will Bauer, 12. Lyle Russell, 13. Nicole Woods, 14. William McBride (DNF), 15. Cody Williams (DNF).

IMCA Sport Compacts

Heat race winners: Brandon Wise, Art Herzog.

Feature: 1. Herzog, 2. Lesley Tubbs, 3. Paul Whittenburg, 4. Brooke Russell, 5. Jakob Schwein (DNF), 6. Randy Murphy (DNF), 7. Billy Turner (DNF), 8. Wise (DNF), 9. Andrew Soderlund (DNF), 10. Cody Lilly (DNF), 11. Tyson Plumisto (DNS).


Heat winner: Justin Yarmer/Levi Ryan.

Feature: 1. Jeff McQuade/Toby Schwein, 2. Dalton Bauer/Josh Crombie, 3. Brian Holloway/Shaylon Holloway, 4. Shaun Woods/Harlan Kuntzch, 5. Yarmer/Ryan.