New winner's in victory lane

By Mike Hughes

News Main Photo

Corey Lagroon, Salina, KS IMCA Modified Feature Winner

     All new faces appeared in the winner’s circle at RPM Speedway in Hays, KS, Saturday evening, May 14.

     Salina’s Corey Lagroon led all 20 laps in the NAPA Auto Parts/Gib’s Auto Supply IMCA Modified feature.  Lagroon started fifth but shot to the lead on the opening lap and never looked back.  ‘Dynamite’ Dylan Sherfick, the defending track champion, finished second, and Brian Knoell, who won on Friday night at Salina Speedway, finished third.  Heat one winner Tyler Frye finished fourth, with Mike Petersilie completing the top five.  Kurtis Pihl and Kyle Rohleder also won heat races.

     Arnold Williams looked to pick up the win in the Advantage Glass Plus IMCA Stock Car feature, but Selden’s Jason Rogers had other ideas.  Williams, who won the first of three heat races, started on the pole and shot out to an early lead.  Williams looked to have the race in hand, but on lap 18, Rogers, who won the night before at Oberlin Speedway, took over the top spot and held off Williams for the victory.  Heat three winner Jason Schoenberger finished third, followed by Casey ‘The Weiner’ Woken and Austin Carter.  Cody Zimmerman also won a heat race.

     The Golden B Hydra Drilling IMCA Sport Mod feature had several caution periods, but when the checkers waved, it was Collyer’s Blaine Walt out in front.  Walt, who also won Friday night at Oberlin, took the lead on lap 16 and was able to beat Friday night’s Salina Speedway winner Daniel Gottschalk to the wire.  Heat three winner Cody Pancake was third, trailed by Tracy Holloway and Rodger Peck.  Cody Stefanski of Great Bend rolled his car during the race but was not injured.  Brian Fink and Tyler Watts also won heat races.

     The 20-lap Golden Plains Trucking IMCA Hobby Stock A-feature was a marathon as the caution flag waved as often as the green flag, but when all was said and done, Travis Coop of Portis found himself in the winner’s circle.  Coop took the lead at the drop of the green and held off Iowa’s Andrew Burg the entire distance for the win.  Shay Simoneau, Brady Bencken and Eric Cross rounded out the top five.  Tony Slothower of Salina took a roll in the main event was not hurt.  ‘The Wild Child’ Garrett Hager, Colton Pfeifer and Brett Henke were victorious in the heat races, and Jeromy Wagner was first to the checkers in the B-main.

     Hometown driver Brooke Russell picked up her first win of the season in the Cutting Edge Collision IMCA Sport Compact main event.  Russell, the second heat winner, led all 12 laps and was able to hold off two-time winner Jakob Schwein to the checkers.  Nebraska drivers Richard Crow and Travis Thelander finished third and fourth, followed by heat one winner Art Herzog.

     The Radke Implement ‘Crazy’ Cruiser division saw the father & son team of Brian & Shaylon Holloway of Osborne take the lead at the halfway mark of the 12-lap feature and hold off heat race winners Justin Yarmer & Levi Ryan for the win.

     It was Kid’s Night as all kids were admitted free with a paid adult.  Seventy bicycles were given away thanks to various sponsors, and with the help of the NCK Tech College.

     The evening’s races were sponsored by Carrico Implement.

     Racing action returns to RPM Speedway on Saturday, May 28, with the regular six divisions in action.  Race time is 7:00 p.m.



IMCA Sport Compacts

Heat race winners: Art Herzog, Brooke Russell.

Feature: 1. Russell, 2. Jakob Schwein, 3. Richard Crow, 4. Travis Thelander, 5. Herzog, 6. Brandon Wise, 7. Joey Foster, 8. Tayler Watts (DNF), 9. Billy Turner (DNF), 10. Paul Whittenburg (DNF), 11. Andrew Soderland (DNS).

IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat race winners: Garrett Hager, Colton Pfeifer, Brett Henke.

B-Feature (top 6 advance): 1. Jeromy Wagner, 2. Tony Slothower, 3. Nicole Woods, 4. Brady Bencken, 5. Michael Smith, 6. Justin Rohr, 7. Cody Ghumm, 8. T.C. McKain (DNF), 9. Josh Barnhart (DNF).

A-Feature: 1. Travis Coop, 2. Andrew Burg, 3. Shay Simoneau, 4. Bencken, 5. Eric Cross, 6. Lyle Russell, 7. Daniel Irwin, 8. Pfeifer, 9. Austin Tammen, 10. Eric Ross, 11. Woods, 12. Henke, 13. Robert Leonard (DNF), 14. Cody Williams (DNF), 15. Rohr (DNF), 16. Jace Smith (DNF), 17. Hager (DNF), 18. Tanner Jones (DNF), 19. Wagner (DNF), 20. Slothower (DNF), 21. Ghumm (DNF), 22. William McBride (DNF), 23. Smith (DNF), 24. Roger Garrison (DNF).

IMCA Northern Sport Mods

Heat race winners: Brian Fink, Tyler Watts, Cody Pancake.

Feature: 1. Blaine Walt, 2. Daniel Gottschalk, 3. Pancake, 4. Tracy Holloway, 5. Rodger Peck, 6. Trenton Kleweno, 7. Fink, 8. Eric Pfeifer, 9. Brian Davidson, 10. Pat Bedore, 11. C.J. Pfannenstiel, 12. Adam Weber (DNF), 13. Watts (DNF), 14. Jeremy Couse (DNF), 15. J.R. Ewing (DNF), 16. Cody Stefanski (DNF), 17. Brendon Damon (DNS).

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat race winners: Arnold Williams, Cody Zimmerman, Jason Schoenberger.

Feature: 1. Jason Rogers, 2. Williams, 3. Schoenberger, 4. Casey Woken, 5. Austin Carter, 6. Chad Sterling, 7. Zimmerman, 8. Trevor Schmidt, 9. Nolan Remus, 10. Kyle Pfeifer, 11. Jason Davis, 12. Tanner Portenier, 13. Aaron Gray, 14. Chris Cates, 15. Kiowa Higdon, 16. Robert Rutherford (DNF), 17. Shaylon Holloway (DNF), 18. Bruce Plumisto (DNF).

IMCA Modifieds

Heat race winners: Tyler Frye, Kurtis Pihl, Kyle Rohleder.

Feature: 1. Corey Lagroon, 2. Dylan Sherfick, 3. Brian Knoell, 4. Frye, 5. Mike Petersilie, 6. Clay Money, 7. Brian Calhoon, 8. Clay Sellard, 9. Ronnie Hill, 10. Nate Moore, 11. Pihl, 12. Kaid Calhoon, 13. Cole Hodges, 14. Tanner Black, 15. Don Geist, 16. Tim Watts (DNF), 17. William Nusser (DNF), 18. Mike Lunow (DNF), 19. Jesse Richter (DNF), 20. Rohleder (DNF), 21. Marty Clark (DNF), 22. Jimmy Reeves (DNF).


Heat winner: Justin Yarmer/Levi Ryan.

Feature: 1. Brian Holloway/Shaylon Holloway, 2. Justin Yarmer/Levi Ryan, 3. Shaun Woods/Harlan Kuntzch (DNF), 4. Jeff McQuade/Justin Schwein (DNF).