First Win at RPM Speedway for IMCA Modified Rookie Clay Money

By Mike Hughes

News Main Photo

#7 Modified Feature Winner Rookie Clay Money

     Daniel Gottschalk of Ellis and Russell’s Jakob Schwein made it two in a row in their respective divisions in racing action at RPM Speedway in Hays, KS, Saturday evening, April 23.

     Gottschalk made it two in a row in the Golden B Hydra Drilling IMCA Sport Mod feature.  First heat winner Brenden Damon took the early lead and appeared to have the race well in hand, but car problems sent him to the infield on lap 8, handing over the lead to Blaine Walt.  Walt’s lead was shortlived as Brian Davidson took the lead at the halfway mark of the 20-lap race.  A caution on lap 15 put 11th starting Gottschalk behind Davidson on the restart, and Gottschalk, who won Friday night at Oberlin, took advantage as he took the lead on the restart and held on for the win.  Walt finished second, followed by 17th starting Tracy Holloway, Trenton Kleweno and Dakota Sproul.  Pat Bedore and Brian Fink also won heat races.

     Schwein made it two in a row in the Cutting Edge Collision IMCA Sport Compact main event.  Heat two victor Schwein led all 12 laps to make his way to the winner’s circle.  Amber Bird finished in the runner-up spot, trailed by Brandon Wise, Toby Schwein, and heat one winner Billy Turner.

     Bruce Plumisto of Colby took the lead from Austin Carter on lap 9 of the Advantage Glass Plus IMCA Stock Car feature and held off a charge by Kyle Pfeifer, the Friday night feature winner at Oberlin, for the win.  Heat two winner Chad Sterling finished third, followed by Carter and Casey ‘The Weiner’ Woken.  Trevor ‘The Hit Man’ Schmidt won the other heat race.

     The NAPA Auto Parts/Gib’s Auto Supply IMCA Modified feature saw ‘The Money Man’ Clay Money of Penokee make his way to the winner’s circle.  Money, who was involved in an accident Friday night at Oberlin, got the car back together with help from his pit crew and took the lead from early leader Mike Petersilie and drove on for the win.  Petersilie was second, followed by heat 3 winner Nate Moore, ‘Dynamite’ Dylan Sherfick, and ‘The Ice Man’ David Murray.  Kyle Rohleder and ‘The Frye Man’ Tyler Frye were also victorious in their heat races.

     The 20-lap Golden Plains Trucking IMCA Hobby Stock feature saw Robert Leonard of Gibbon, NE, lead the entire distance in the caution filled event.  Leonard, who won the second heat race, was followed all the way by heat 3 winner Colton Pfeifer, but Pfeifer could not make the pass and settled for second.  ‘The Wild Child’ Garrett Hager was third, with Eric Cross and Travis Coop completing the top five.  Andrew Burg of Carlisle, IA, won the other heat race.

     The Radke Implement ‘Crazy’ Cruiser division only had 3 cars take the green with heat race winners Jeff McQuad of Victoria & Justin Schwein of Russell first to the checkers in the main event, followed by Brian Brummer & Braden Hake

     The evening’s races were dedicated to Cody Younger, lost but not forgotten.

      April 30th’s races will feature the URSS Sprint Cars and the NCRA Late Models.  Also on hand will be the IMCA-sanctioned Hobby Stocks and Sport Compacts, along with the ‘Crazy’ Cruisers, School Buses and the Kansas Antique Racers.  Race time is 7:00 p.m.



IMCA Sport Compacts

Heat race winners: Billy Turner, Jakob Schwein.

Feature: 1. J. Schwein, 2. Amber Bird, 3. Brandon Wise, 4. Toby Schwein, 5. Turner, 6. Paul Whittenburg, 7. Tayler Watts, 8. Dean Herzog (DNF), 9. Brooke Russell (DNF), 10. Andrew Soderland (DNF), 11. Art Herzog (DNF), 12. Randy Murphy (DNS), 13. Ryan Murphy (DNS).

IMCA Hobby Stocks

Heat race winners: Andrew Burg, Robert Leonard, Colton Pfeifer.

Feature: 1. Leonard, 2. Pfeifer, 3. Garrett Hager, 4. Eric Cross, 5. Travis Coop, 6. Burg, 7. Lyle Russell, 8. Daniel Irwin, 9. William McBride, 10. Roger Garrison, 11. Brady Bencken, 12. Mark Normandin, 13. Jason Cleveland, 14. Josh Barnhart, 15. Michael Smith (DNF), 16. Nicole Woods (DNF), 17. Jesse Prockish (DNF), 18. T.C. McKain (DNF), 19. Cody Graham (DNF), 20. Monte Honas (DNF), 21. Justin Meserve (DNF), 22. Jace Smith (DNF).

IMCA Northern Sport Mods

Heat race winners: Brenden Damon, Pat Bedore, Brian Fink.

Feature: 1. Daniel Gottschalk, 2. Blaine Walt, 3. Tracy Holloway, 4. Trenton Kleweno, 5. Dakota Sproul, 6. Bedore, 7. Eric Pfeifer, 8. Bentley Pywell, 9. J.R. Ewing, 10. C.J. Pfannenstiel, 11. Jeremy Couse, 12. Fink, 13. Dan Lauer, 14. Brian Davidson, 15. Cody Pancake (DNF), 16. Tyler Watts (DNF), 17. Damon (DNF), 18. Madison Reed (DNF), 19. Adam Weber (DNS), 20. Kolton Vogel (DNS).

IMCA Stock Cars

Heat race winners: Trevor Schmidt, Chad Sterling.

Feature: 1. Bruce Plumisto, 2. Kyle Pfeifer, 3. Sterling, 4. Austin Carter, 5. Casey Woken, 6. Schmidt, 7. Shaylon Holloway, 8. Jason Davis, 9. Jason Rogers, 10. Tanner Portenier, 11. Robert Rutherford, 12. Tony Blickenstaff, 13. Chris Cates, 14. Kiowa Higdon, 15. Nolan Remus (DNF), 16. Jason Schoenberger (DNF).

IMCA Modifieds

Heat race winners: Tyler Frye, Kyle Rohleder, Nate Moore.

Feature: 1. Clay Money, 2. Mike Petersilie, 3. Moore, 4. Dylan Sherfick, 5. David Murray, 6. Frye, 7. Brian Calhoon, 8. Tyler Black, 9. Jeremy Frenier, 10. Danny Morrison, 11. Rohleder, 12. Tim Watts, 13. Tyler Sutton, 14. Clinton Hockersmith, 15. Kaid Calhoon, 16. Todd Schwarz, 17. Don Geist (DNF), 18. Ronnie Hill (DNF).


Heat winner: Jeff McQuad/Justin Schwein.

Feature: 1. McQuad/Schwein, 2. Brian Brummer/Braden Hake, 3. Justin Yarmer/Levi Ryan (DNF), 4. Shaun Woods/Harlan Kuntzch (DNS), 5. Brian Holloway/Shaylon Holloway (DNS).